Thoughts on Sunnyvale Library Learning 2.0

Well, just about there; didn’t think it would happen! I got what I thought was a late start, but I am very glad that I went through this program. I think it was a great exercise, and way to learn about many of the tools, social networking sites, etc. that are out in cyberspace. Even though there should have been plenty of time to work on this (if I had kept up right from the beginning), I did feel like I was just rushing through some of it instead of taking time to really “play”. (At one point I felt like I was just signing up for various services, and had to start keeping a notebook of my usernames/passwords– which I should probably do for everything in my life!) However, my feeling is that just becoming familiar w/ some of the sites, terms, etc. has made me a more proficient internet user; some of that has already translated into helping patrons with reference questions as well.

I really want to thank Garrett for all that he has done to help with this program. His enthusiasm and encouragement were always welcome; I liked his comments on the blog entries as well! I’m sure I would have gotten stuck many times if he hadn’t been sitting right near me to get me through the rough spots.

This type of self-paced program has been easy to follow, and there definitely was enough time to finish, if you had at least a few “productive” weeks and spent enough time catching up. In the future, if we didn’t want to embark on this ambitious of a program, I think we could present some new sites/ideas/features at a general staff meeting.

The actual workings/ instructions of the program were generally very good and easy to follow. I did find it disconcerting to start at the bottom of the blog, and work up the page; it was kind of counter-intuitive for me, even though I understand that is how blogs work. I think w/ a “curriculum” it could have started at Lesson 1, and moved down. Also, I understand that for the committee members it was easier to get an email than to just look at people’s blogs, but that step somehow was the one I kept forgetting to do.

Thanks to the committee for putting this together– I think that those of us who participated definitely learned a lot. It was a good cooperative experience as we would definitely help each other (when Garrett wasn’t around!) and learning through showing another person definitely cemented some of it into my brain. Just the act of keeping a blog was useful in itself; adding links, pictures, videos and seeing how easy it is to do these things is extremely useful to SDWT already as we work on our own PassItOn blog.

1 Response to “Thoughts on Sunnyvale Library Learning 2.0”


  1. 1 svl2 November 6, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    Thanks for sharing your honest opinions! We’re glad that you were challenged but made it through. Great work! And you’re welcome, it was my pleasure to help!
    -Garrett & the L2 Team


Leave a Reply

