Google can organize your surfing/

I haven’t used all the Google tools as much as I thought I would, but I think that this custom searching tool can be quite helpful. I can definitely see using it for planning travel, when I continually go back and forth to the same sites. I also have been doing a lot of online shopping recently, and I could see grouping my favorite sites/stores together. (I’ll do that when I’m done with this “homework”.) For this exercise, I just wanted to try looking at Library 2.0 sites, so here is my Google link

http://www.google.com/coop/cse?cx=011001260382988253415%3Avp7_oc7dk8i

In keeping with the subject at hand, namely Library 2.0, I found the articles that were mentioned quite interesting. I especially resonated with the first article “Away from the “icebergs”. Having just been weeding a lot of fiction, I am always worried about discarding classic authors who just aren’t popular anymore. With Link+, I began to hesitate less about letting go of some of these classics; now after reading this article, I think I will just go for it! There is no reason to keep a book that hasn’t circulated in years “just in case”. A very freeing concept!!

Another article “Into a new world of librarianship” discusses users accessing, consuming and creating content. This dovetails nicely with the discussion we just had at our last SDWT meeting regarding LibraryThing for Libraries– in which users will be able to add tags to books, thus creating their own content. I think this is definitely the way to go. Having helped patrons for years with cookbooks, I still can’t get past our subject designation of “cookery”– now who uses that term except librarians??

The article on better bibliographic services intrigued me in regard to packaging and pushing metadata. It makes perfect sense to me that in this day and age there should be as much collaboration as possible.

I enjoyed seeing where Wendy Schultz thinks we are going in Library 3.0. I’m not sure I have enough time in my week to do my real life, and here are people spending more than 40 hours / week in Second Life. At this point I can’t imagine Second Life being as compelling as that, but time will tell, and I certainly don’t want to be left behind!

1 Response to “Google can organize your surfing/”


  1. 1 svl2 October 26, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Good ideas for using custom search engines. I’m glad to hear that collaboration via Link+ is positively impacting your daily work. Patrons and staff agree, it’s great!
    -Garrett


Leave a Reply

